2024 Challenger Medallist and Fellows

We are delighted to announce the 2024 recipients of the Challenger Medal and the Challenger Fellowships. These biennial awards will be presented to awardees at the Challenger Conference in September.

The Society is delighted to announce the award of the 2024 Challenger Medal to Prof. Penny Holliday (NOC). The award is for a distinguished UK marine scientist or other person who has made a single major contribution, or a sustained contribution, to the development of marine science, or whose innovation has opened up new perspectives. Penny is a world-leading researcher who specialises in using observations and models to understand the circulation and variability of the subpolar North Atlantic, and the role of the ocean in climate. Penny has not only contributed significantly to the field of Oceanography but has also played a key role in supporting others, driving equality and creating opportunities for early career researchers. Congratulations Penny, we look forward to hearing your Award Lecture at the conference.

The Society is also delighted to award the 2024 Challenger Fellowships to Dr Anna Katavouta (NOC) and Dr Tiago Segabinazzi Dotto (NOC), and the Challenger-Woodward Fellowship to Dr Alastair Lough (University of Leeds). The Fellowships are awarded to early career-stage marine scientists who are members of the Challenger Society, for their achievements and promise in a branch of marine sciences: marine biology, marine chemistry, marine geology and marine physics. Congratulations to Anna, Tiago and Alastair!